IPL 2020News

Who Will Break These Unbreakable Records At IPL 2020?

The history of Indian Premier League is full of some amazing performances and there have been lots of unbelievable records made over the years. With IPL 2020 just around the corner, everyone is looking forward to some brilliant performances from their favorite cricket stars. However, there are some unbreakable cricket records that IPL has seen in its 13 years history and we expect someone might step up to break those records in this edition – the IPL 13

So, before the real action gets underway at the Indian Premier League 2020 from September 19, let’s check out top 5 unbreakable records that are yet to be broken. 

Highest Team Total (RCB)

Even though Royal Challengers Bangalore have not won a single title in 12 years’ history of the Indian Premier League, their batting quality is just impeccable. They have produced some amazing knocks from batsmen like Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, and Virat Kohli who have all entertained and impressed their fans with their sheer quality of batting.

In IPL 2013, Royal Challengers Bangalore took the toll of Pune Warriors as they smacked 264 runs while batting first. It was Gayle’s special that day who scored 175 from only 66 balls. 

8 IPL Finals (CSK)

Is there a team at IPL that has played more IPL Finals than CSK? It was inspirational leadership of MS Dhoni that lead Chennai Super Kings to 8 finals of the tournament. No other team has been this consistent yet. CSK were runners-up in 2008, won the title in 2010 and 2011, and were again runners-up in 2012, 2013, and 2015. They won the 2018 title and were again runners-up in the 2019 edition. 

Highest Individual Score (RCB’s Chris Gayle)

We all know the brutal hitter Chris Gayle is. It’s his incredible hand-eye coordination and wonderful physique that has helped him demolish any bowling attack around the world over the years. 

His best came against Pune Warriors India in 2013 when he smacked an unbeaten 175 off only 66 balls. The innings featured 17 sixes and 13 fours and helped RCB post a mammoth of 264 on the board. 

Biggest Victory Margin By Runs (Mumbai Indians)

Mumbai Indians have won the Indian Premier League four times through the history of the tournament. Along the way, they have produced some wonderful records as well. Among them is the biggest victory margin by runs – a record they made by defeating Delhi Capitals in 2017 by 146 runs. 

Maximum Runs In An Over (37 by Chris Gayle)

Usually, the maximum runs that a batsman can hit in an over is 36, but Chris Gayle proved that theory wrong as he scored 37 runs in one over against Kochi Tuskers in 2011. He took Prasanth Parameswaran to the cleaners to make this record. The extra run came with a no-ball as he hit 4 sixes and 3 fours in that over. 

Here’s how the over went:

  • 2.1 – Prasanth to Gayle – SIX
  • 2.2 – Prasanth to Gayle – No ball + SIX
  • 2.2 – Prasanth to Gayle – FOUR
  • 2.3 – Prasanth to Gayle – FOUR
  • 2.4 – Prasanth to Gayle – SIX
  • 2.5 – Prasanth to Gayle – SIX
  • 2.6 – Prasanth to Gayle – FOUR

So, are these records breakable? Is there anyone going to break these unbreakable records at the IPL 2020? We’ll have to wait and watch out!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button