Pak vs SA

Pakistan vs South Africa Squads 2020 Announced

Pakistan had a miserable run in New Zealand where they were badly thrashed by the opposition both in the T20Is and the Tests. Now, it’s time for a new assignment at home as Pakistan will be hosting South Africa from January 26 to February 14 for 2 Tests and 3 T20Is. If you have been waiting for the Pakistan vs South Africa Squads 2020, we have them here. Check out how the two teams will be different from their outlook in the last international assignment and see who will be the possible best performers of the upcoming series.

Pakistan Squad

Pakistan will be playing under Babar Azam – the all-format captain who missed the entire New Zealand tour due to a thumb fracture. The star batsman has become the back-bone of Pakistan batting in all formats of the game and will be expected to make a difference against the protease at home.

Besides, Babar, most of the Pakistan squad will be the same as that on the New Zealand tour despite the fact that we now have a new Chief Selector taking care of things. So, Abid Ali, Fawad Alam, Azhar Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, and Faheem Ashraf are all expected to retain their place in the batting department for the tests. Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Haider Ali, Abdullah Shafiq, and Imad Wasim will be there in the T20Is.

On the bowling front, Pakistan squad will feature some capable names like Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Yasir Shah.

It is likely that Hasan Ali, Saud Shakeel, Azam Khan, and Sharjeel Khan will be part of the Pakistan squad for the upcoming series as well.

South Africa Squad

South Africa have announced their Test squad for the series as of now and they’ll be lead by Quinton de Kock on the Pakistan tour. De Kock has been the star batsman for South Africa over the years and has produced great results. He will be expected to lead his team from the front during the test matches against Pakistan.

Besides, they have some big names and in-form players in the squad with the likes of Faf du Plessis, Aiden Markram, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Dean Elgar, and Dwaine Pretorius in the batting department. We saw some wonderful performances from these players in the recent series against Sri Lanka and they’d be expected to produce some great knocks on the placid tracks in Pakistan too.

On the bowling front, South Africa will be relying on the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Beuran Hendricks, and Anrich Nortje.

The protease have also named the uncapped Ottniel Baartman and Daryn Dupavillon in their Test Squad for the Pakistan tour. The T20 team will be announced at a later time.

We’ll keep you posted with all the latest updates from the series and will share the T20 squads as soon as announced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button